Accessibility Tools

Image of businessman examining papers

The Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability was established on 4 April 2019 by the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retired).

The Hon Ronald Sackville AO QC has been appointed as Chair of the Royal Commission. Mr Sackville will be supported by five other Royal Commissioners; Ms Barbara Bennett PSM, Dr Rhonda Galbally AC, Ms Andrea Mason OAM, Alastair McEwin AM and The Hon John Ryan AM.

Disability advocates and sector representatives and supporters in Parliament, including Senator Jordan Steele-John and Shadow Minister for the NDIS, Bill Shorten MP, have all made calls for two of the commissioners, Ms Barbara Bennet PSM and The Hon John Ryan AM, to stand down due to conflicts of interest.

The Commissioners are required to provide an interim report no later than 30 October 2020, and a final report by no later than 29 April 2022.

The Disability Royal Commission wants to hear from all Australians about their experiences of violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation of people with disability.

Submissions are now open. Submissions can be made online, by email or over the phone. For more information, see our online directory listing.

Contact Details

Phone: 1800 517 199
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Web:  www.disability.royalcommission.gov.au

Information sourced from Royal Commission website