A photo of a State Border Sign, with the writing "State Border Queensland" in black on the white sign.

Queensland has reviewed the border restrictions that were in place. We explain the current restrictions.  

Important information for Queensland residents

This information is for Queensland residents who will be returning home between 1am AEST, Monday 21 December and 1am AEST, Tuesday 22 December, and who have been in Greater Sydney on or since 11 December.

  • Queensland residents entering Queensland during this time period will be allowed to enter by road and complete quarantine at their home. The period of quarantine required will be 14 days from the time the resident left Greater Sydney.
  • If you arrive in Queensland by road and there are police stationed at your point of entry, you must make yourself known to officers to receive your home quarantine notice, which will also include information on testing requirements.
  • If you arrive in Queensland by road and there are no police officers at your point of entry, you must drive directly to a testing centre near your home to have a COVID-19 test and then drive directly home to serve your period of quarantine.
  • If you are arriving after 1 am AEST 22 December, you will be directed to hotel quarantine.

 What’s changed from 1am AEST 21 December 2020

  • The Queensland border is closed to anyone who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the last 14 days or since the hotspot was declared (whichever is shorter). Currently specific parts of New South Wales are hotspots.
  • Anyone who has been overseas in the last 14 days must follow the Quarantine for International Arrivals Direction.
  • Anyone travelling to Queensland who has been in NSW at any time since 1am Friday 11 December must complete a Queensland Border Declaration Pass before they enter Queensland.
  • Anyone (including all interstate visitors and Queensland residents returning home) who was in the locations below on or since Friday 11 December 2020 must follow testing and quarantine requirements:

More details of these changes can be found at QLD Government Health Border restrictions 

New South Wales

From 20 December, anyone entering Queensland from NSW will need a Queensland Border Declaration Pass. People travelling from COVID-19 hotspots will only be allowed to enter Queensland if they are a returning Queensland resident or have a valid reason for travel. Anyone returning from a COVID-19 hotspot will need to self-isolate or quarantine for 14 days. 

Currently, the Northern Beaches LGA is classified as a COVID-19 hotspot. From 1 am on 21 December, the Greater Sydney region including the Illawarra, Blue Mountains and Central Coast will be classified as a COVID-19 hotspot. 

Apply for a pass

See more about the Queensland Border Declaration Pass


The Queensland border is now open to all of  Victoria from Tuesday 1 December 2020. 

People who have been in a hotspot in the past 14 days or since the hotspot was declared (whichever is shorter) will not be allowed to enter Queensland. Currently, specific parts of New South Wales are hotspots.

South Australia

From 11.59 pm AEST Monday 16 November 2020:

Entering Queensland from a COVID-19 hotspot

From 10 July 2020, people who have been in a hotspot in the last 14 days will only be able to enter Queensland if they are a returning Queensland resident or required to enter for a limited range of essential reasons. Queensland residents returning to Queensland from a hotspot must quarantine for 14 days on entering Queensland. This will help reduce the chance that they might infect other people.

Details of who is exempt from mandatory quarantine, even if they have been to a hotspot, can be found on the Border Restrictions page.

From 1 am AEST 1 December 2020 you only need to complete a Queensland Border Declaration Pass if, in the last 14 days, you have been in a hotspot or overseas and didn’t fly into Queensland when you arrived in Australia.

See Border Restrictions for more information.

Declaration of COVID-19 hotspots

Hotspots are legally listed so that people travelling from those high-risk areas into Queensland can be identified.

See the Chief Health Officer's Declaration of COVID-19 hotspots.

Sourced from Roadmap to Easing Restrictions in Queensland.

IDEAS does information so you can do life.